Hidden User Tasks in the inbox
What is a Hidden Task?
Hidden Tasks are User Tasks that have been configured so that their instances are not shown in the Inbox.
These instances could be opened by search or reports, and the permissions to edit and make decisions on them will be assigned as usual.
When to use Hidden Tasks
Hidden Tasks are useful when you need to leave a process instance paused for an indefinite period of time.
Contracts: Once a contract is approved you can leave it in a Current Contract hidden task. This will allow you to add information to the contract or even terminate it, without the need for all of them to keep in your Inbox.
Employees files: You can send the files of your organization's active employees to a hidden task assigned to the Human Resources Department. They could have permissions to upload attachments and modify employee information.
Archived Instances: If in your process you need to archive some instances for an undetermined time and then unarchive them to continue the work, you can create a hidden task ARCHIVED and send the instances there. Users assigned to this task will be able to search for the instance and move it to another visible task at any time.
Combine hidden tasks with timers or conditional events: A good practice is to associate timers or interruptive conditional events to a hidden task. With this you will be able to automatically move it to another visible task when a condition is met. For example, in the case of Contracts you can add a timer associated to the expiration date of the contract.
Configure Hidden Tasks
Hidden Tasks are configured in the Options tab of the task settings, checking the Hide in Inbox option.
Note that those assigned to a hidden Task will not be notified.
Hidden Tasks cannot be completed by email and interactions with external users are not allowed.
Configure in existing processes
Remember that if you have an existing process with instances already started, it is necessary to migrate them to the new active version for the changes to be applied. To do this you simply need to make sure you have the Automatic Instance Upgrade enabled, once opened the instance will migrate to the new version after which it will no longer be visible in your Inbox.
Updated on: 28/01/2023